September 2017

We want to welcome our new staff member, Dr. Richard Everson. Dr. Everson will be joining our Neurology team. We are excited to welcome him aboard.

August 2017

Residency Interview Dates for the 2018-2019 Intern Class have been announced: November 29th and December 13th. All applicants must apply through the ERAS system

June 2017

We want to extend a congratulations to the Harbor-UCLA Department of Surgery Annual Research Symposium award winners:

Dr. Alexander C. Schwed, M.D.- Best Paper Award, Clinical Science

Resident Remediation and Program Director Attitudes Towards Categorical Surgical Resident Attrition at High- and Low- Attrition Programs

Dr. Michael O’ Leary, M.D.- Best Paper Award, Basic Science

Chimeric Oncolytic Orthopoxvirus Causes Efficient Regression of Pancreatic Cancer and Exhibits Abscopal Effect

October 2016

We are thrilled to announce that our 2nd Annual Faculty Retreat will be held at Terranea on October 22nd. This year’s theme will be teamwork in a healthcare setting. We look forward to a fun filled day with everyone!

The 2nd Annual Faculty and Residents as Educators Symposium has been confirmed for March 11, 2017 and will again be held at the Manhattan Beach Marriot Hotel.

Congratulations to Dr. Reed Ayabe, who was selected to attend a prestigious two-year NCI Surgical Oncology Research Fellowship at the NIH starting July 2017!

September 2016

Welcome aboard to our newest faculty members:

Dr. Nina Bowens – Vascular Division
Dr. Eric Simms – General & Bariatric Surgery Division

Congrats to Huan! He has been accepted for fellowship in Endocrine Surgery at Northshore Health System/Cook County in Chicago.

All of our recent graduates have passed the written Boards. Way to go Andrew, Brian, Ronnie, and Ted!!

August 2016

A warm welcome to our three new faculty members:
Dr. George Singer –Trauma Division
Dr. Molly Deane –Trauma Division
Dr. Kathryn Chen – Surgical Oncology Division

The 2nd Annual Critical Care/Trauma Surgery Conference will be held on August 25th. The conference will highlight innovative therapies, best practices and issues encountered in Critical Care, Trauma and Surgery populations.

July 2016

Welcome to our intern class 2016-2017:

Categorical Interns
Camaleigh Jaber, MD, Loyola University Chicago SOM
Sonam Kapadia, MD, University of Vermont COM
John Michel-Ruddy, MD, University of Maryland SOM
Sohail Sareh, MD, UCLA David Geffen SOM
Adam Shellito, MD, University of CA Davis
Joseph Sirody, MD, Eastern VA Medical School

Preliminary Interns
Hamid Alipour, MD, Kermanshah University SOM, Undesignated
Apar Ghumanr, DO, MPH, Touro COM, CA, PM&R: Marian Joy Rehab Hosp, IL
Jack Guevara, DO, Lake Erie COM, PA, Anesthesia: Kendall Reg. Med Ctr, FL
Ohwook Kwon, MD, Loma Linda SOM, Radiology: Loma Linda
Diana Lee, MD, Georgetown University SOM, Ophthalmology
Kiarash Mashayekhi, MD, Tehran University of Med Science, Undesignated
David Nguyen, DO, Philadelphia COM / Western U Health Science COM, Pacific, Anesthesia: Rush Univ Med Ctr, IL
Van Nguyen, MD, University of CA San Francisco, Diagnostic Radiology: USC
Micah Rogers, DO, AZ COM of Midwestern, Anesthesia: St. Elizabeth Med Ctr, MA
Vonetta Williams, MD, Loma Linda University SOM, Radiation Oncology: Univ of WA
Jeffrey Yang, MD, University of IL COM, Anesthesia: Rush Univ Med Ctr, IL
Sam Zheng, MD, USF Health Morsani COM, Radiology: Icahn SOM, Beth Israel, NY

Residency Interview Dates for the 2017-2018 Intern Class have been announced: November 30th and December 7th. All applicants must apply through the ERAS system

June 2015

First Annual Harbor-UCLA Research Day Winners:
1st Prize – Ted Gifford, Junior Chief Resident
2nd Prize – Brian MacLaughlin, Research Resident

Congratulations and farewell to our graduating class!
Bryan Goldner – Surgical Oncology fellowship, City of Hope
Andrew Li – Plastic Surgery fellowship, UCLA
Carrie Luu – Surgical Oncology fellowship, Moffitt Cancer Center
Sam Schwartz – Vascular Surgery fellowship, Massachusetts General
Judy Wang – Minimally Invasive Surgery, Methodist Hospital, Houston

June 2016

Harbor-UCLA held its 1st Annual Faculty and Residents as Educators Symposium June 6th at the Manhattan Beach Marriott.

Congratulations to Dr. Jennifer Williams and Dr. Michael O’Leary who won first and second place, respectively, at the Harbor-UCLA Department of Surgery Second Annual Resident Research Day on June 8th.

April 2016

Harbor-UCLA Surgery had an outstanding representation at the Southwestern Surgical Congress (SWSC) meeting in San Diego. We had three podium presentations (Ben Pham, Jess Keeley, Kyle Mock), three quick shot presentations (Aaron Parrish {two} and Eric Tamrazian) and one poster (Jon William). Congratulations to all!